Policy Committee

Members of the Policy Committee represent key decision makers and signatory authorities to the BBP and include representatives from the Regional Administrator of the US EPA, Region 2; the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection; the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders; Ocean County College; the Ocean County Mayor’s Association; and a citizen representative.

The Policy Committee’s responsibilities include:

  • Approve annual budget and work plan;
  • Develop new action items or policy initiatives that develop during program implementation;
  • Ensure commitment among implementing authorities for action item implementation and scheduling;
  • Assist in securing long-term funding commitments;
  • Promote the BBP to a statewide and nationwide audience; and
  • Mediate issues of disagreement among BBP participants.

Policy Committee Members

Name:Affiliation and Title
Hon. William W. Curtis
Ocean County Mayor’s Association, President
Lisa Garcia
USEPA, Region 2, Regional Administrator (Policy Committee Co-Chair)
Dr. Javier E. Laureano
USEPA, Region 2, Director, Clean Water Division (Alternate)
George MurnyakBBP Citizen Representative
Dr. Pamela MonacoOcean County College, President
Shawn M. LaTouretteNJDEP, Commissioner (Policy Committee Co-Chair)
Hon. Joseph H. VicariOcean County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Liaison
Dr. L. Stanton Hales, Jr.Co-Chair, Advisory Committee (ex officio)
Karen GreeneCo-Chair, Advisory Committee (ex officio)
Gregg Sakowicz
Chair, Science and Technical Advisory Committee (ex officio)
Kaitlin GannonChair, Communication and Education Committee (ex officio)
Joel Mott
Co-Chair, Communication and Education Committee (Alternate, ex officio)


Policy Committee Meeting Documents

Approved Minutes

Connect with Us

Sign up for email or connect through social media.